Holding A Dream (Poem)

Holding A Dream

 

I can’t sleep.

Sheets are like sandpaper, 
compared to the softness of your skin. 

Midnight…

Transient, stumbling…..
Searching the store fronts,
But dreams weren’t on display.

I scanned alley ways and grave yards.
Only to find
Lost souls holding pin wheels.

I followed the stars to the dawn,
Where the topaz sky greeted me.

I’ll retrace my steps again tonight,
Peering through windows.

Holding a dream,
Of where I can sleep.

 

Melissa J. Daniels © 2011

Leave a Reply

