What’s Inside of Me

I’ll give you a look
Maybe a smile
So you can’t see
What’s inside of me
I’ll be okay
For a little while

This mask on my face
Always in style
So you can’t see
What’s inside of me
I’m okay
For a little while

You say that you know
You say that you see
What the whole world
And everyone should be
You say that you know
You say that you see
But you have no idea
What’s inside of me

With my head held high
And my frown hid away
So you can’t see
What’s inside of here
What’s inside of me
I’ll live another day

Aching of my heart
That won’t dissipate
But you can’t see
What’s inside of here
What’s inside of me
I’ll live another day

You say that it’s certain
Life and liberty
And that the whole world
Isn’t what it should be

 
You say that you care
You say that you see
But you have no idea
What’s inside of me

You judge the cover
Not the book inside
You could never see
What it is to fear
What it is to love

What it’s like to hide

A liar covered in knowledge
In yourself, you don’t confide.

You could never see
If it was laid out flat 
Right before your eyes
What it is you hide

You say the world is a stage
That we are all free
But free from what I ask

You could never see
The love that is never shown
The fear that will always be
 
You have no idea
What’s inside of me
 

Melissa J Daniels ©  2010

Leave a Reply

